Description
When an instructor applies release conditions to an assignment within a folder after a student has already accessed the content, the folder's Student Progress "Started" timestamp is overwritten with the time of the configuration change instead of preserving the student's original access time.
Steps to Replicate
Log into Blackboard Learn as an instructor
Navigate into a course
Create a top-level folder
Inside the folder create an assignment making it Visible to students
Log in as a student and navigate to the course
Open and view the assignment inside the folder
Log in as the instructor, navigate to the folder in the course selecting the three dots icon next to the folder > select Student Progress
Locate the student and observe the timestamp under the Progress Status column
Navigate to the assignment changing its visibility setting from Visible to students to Release conditions
Apply a future Date/Time conditional rule and save the change
Refresh the page and re-open the Student Progress view for the folder to observe the student's Started timestamp
Observed Behavior:
The Started timestamp is overwritten and updated to reflect the exact time the instructor applied the Release Condition.
Expected Behavior:
The Started timestamp is preserved to reflect when the student accessed the material.
Affected Versions
Learn 4000.19.0
Target Release
Future Reference
