Skip to main content

Gradebook Column Remains Hidden After Changing Item to Release Conditions in Ultra

In Ultra view mode, when an assignment is initially set to Hidden from students and later updated to use Release Conditions (e.g., specific groups or members), the corresponding Gradebook column remains hidden for the intended students.

Description

In Ultra view mode, when an assignment is initially set to Hidden from students and later updated to use Release Conditions (e.g., specific groups or members), the corresponding Gradebook column remains hidden for the intended students. The column only becomes visible after editing and saving the Gradebook item.

Steps to Replicate

  1. Log into Blackboard Learn Ultra Experience as an administrator

  2. Create and access an Ultra course

  3. Create a student user > Enroll this user in the course created in step 2

  4. Create a group and ensure the student created in step 3 is a member of this group

  5. Create a new assignment or content item

  6. Set the item visibility to Hidden from students and save

  7. Edit the item and change the visibility from Hidden from students to Release Conditions

  8. Configure the release condition > Select the "Specific members or groups" > Select the group created in step 4 > Save

  9. Navigate to the Gradebook and review the column visibility for students in the selected group

Observed Behavior:

The Gradebook column remains hidden for the students in the selected group.

Expected Behavior:

The Gradebook column should be visible to the students who meet the configured release conditions.

Resolution / Workaround

  1. Navigate to the affected course

  2. Open the Gradebook and locate the affected assignments

  3. Click on the item, select Edit, click on Hidden from students and click Save.

  4. Click on the item again, select Edit, click on Release conditions and click Save

Once this is done, the assignment should become visible to the students in the group. This issue occurs because the item is initially hidden and then configured with Adaptive Release, which results in the item remaining hidden unintentionally.

Affected Versions

  • Learn 4000.8.0

  • Learn 4000.10.0

  • Learn 4000.12.0

Target Release

Future Reference

Did this answer your question?