Skip to main content

Cannot Edit Rubric After Graded Student is Deleted

An Instructor cannot edit a Rubric in a course after a graded student is deleted.

Description

An Instructor cannot edit a Rubric in a course after a graded student is deleted.

Steps to Replicate

  1. Log into Blackboard Learn as an Instructor

  2. ​Create a test course: test_rubrics with 1 user enrolled as a test: test.student

  3. Create an assignment in the test course with a rubrics associated to the assignment

  4. Log into the course as test.student

  5. Submit the Assignment

  6. Log in again as the Instructor

  7. Grade the Assignment submitted by test:student

  8. Navigate to Course Tools > Rubrics

  9. Edit the rubric from the Context Menu

  10. Delete the course membership for test:student

    • Delete membership by Student Information System Integration or by Data Sources > Disable and Data Sources > Purge

OR

  • Go to Course Management > Users and Groups > Users > Remove User from Course

​ 11. Attempt to edit the Rubric

Observed Behavior:
The Instructor cannot edit the Rubric and the following error occurs:
This rubric has been used for grading and cannot be modified.

Expected Behavior:
The Instructor is able to edit the Rubric without error.

Resolution / Workaround

  1. Delete the user from the course with bulk delete:

    • Course Management > Packages and Utilities > Bulk Delete

  2. Select Users in Select Other Materials to Delete and submit the form

The rubric will become editable.

Affected Versions

  • Learn 9.1 Q4 2016 (3100.0.0-rel.107+401e22b)

  • Learn 9.1 Q2 2016 (3000.1.0-rel.52+991d2bf)

  • Learn 9.1 Q4 2015 (9.1.201510.1171621)

  • Learn October 2014 (9.1.201410.160373)

  • Learn April 2014 (9.1.201404.160205)

Target Release

Will Not Fix

Did this answer your question?