Description
In Ultra view mode, instructors experience inconsistent behavior when attempting to delete a group that has participated in a Group Discussion. While the Discussion view correctly prevents deletion and displays a warning, the Course Group menu allows instructors to initiate the deletion process without warning. However, the deletion does not take effect, and misleading feedback is provided. Additionally, the group count on the Groups menu temporarily displays incorrect values until refreshed.
Steps to Replicate
Log into Blackboard Learn Ultra Experience as an administrator
Create and access an Ultra course > Enroll a group (more than one) student user
Go to Course Groups > View sets & groups > Click on New Group Set to create a new group with 2 groups and include the students enrolled in step 2
Access Course Discussions > Create a new discussion using the Group Set created in step 3
As a student from Group 1, access the discussion and post a response
As the instructor, access the Discussion and click on assigned groups
Click on the ellipsis (...) menu next to Group 1
Observed Behavior: The delete option is unavailable.
8. Switch to the Course Groups menu and open the Group Set
9. Click on the ellipsis (…) menu next to Group 1
Observed Behavior:
The delete option is available.
Expected Behavior:The Course Groups menu should prevent the deletion of a group that has participated in a Discussion, just like the Discussion view does.
Affected Versions
Learn 3900.112.0
Learn 3900.114.0
Learn 3900.116.0
Target Release
Working as Intended
Information
Even though the deletion appears successful initially, the group is still present, indicating the deletion did not take effect. The deletion attempt decreases the count incorrectly, even showing 0 or -1, until the page is refreshed.
