Skip to main content

Self Enroll Indicator Missing from Group Discussion Settings in Ultra Courses

In Ultra view mode, when creating a new Group Discussion configured for Self-enrollment, the discussion page no longer displays the "Self-enroll” indicator in the settings section. Previously, this label appeared next to the group count (e.g., 2 G

Description

In Ultra view mode, when creating a new Group Discussion configured for Self-enrollment, the discussion page no longer displays the "Self-enroll" indicator in the settings section. Previously, this label appeared next to the group count to clearly identify discussions that allowed students to join groups on their own.

Steps to Replicate

  1. Log in to Blackboard Learn Ultra Experience as an Administrator

  2. Create and access a new Ultra course

  3. Enroll several test students in the course

  4. Go to Discussions > Create a new discussion

  5. Open the Discussion Settings > Enable Grading >Select Assign to Groups

  6. From the Group Students menu, choose Self-enrollment > Save

  7. Save the discussion and make it visible to students

  8. On the discussion page, review the Group Discussion section

Observed Result:

Only the number of groups appears, and the Self-enroll label is missing.

Expected Result:

The section displays the number of groups and indicates (Self-enroll) beside it.

Affected Versions

  • Learn 3900.125.0

  • Learn 3902.1.0

  • Learn 4000.1.0

  • Learn 4000.4.0

Target Release

Will Not Fix

Information

This appears to affect newly created Groups, as older courses that used that setting still display the Self Enroll identifier.

Did this answer your question?