Skip to main content

Viewers can Improperly Convert Folders Into Learning Modules

Viewers can Improperly Convert Folders into Learning Modules

Description

The problem originated with the system role Viewer. Users assigned this role are able to convert folders into learning modules, which is not aligned with the intended behavior for a Viewer role.

Additionally, if a custom role is created with only the minimal permissions needed to access a course, those users are also able to convert a folder into a learning module. However, they cannot convert a learning module back into a folder.

Steps to Replicate

  1. Log into Blackboard Learn as an administrator

  2. Create a new Ultra course and make it available

  3. Create an item inside a folder in the course

  4. Copy the 'viewer' role'

  5. Remove all the privileges and permit only these: Administrator Panel (Courses) > Courses>Course/Organization (Content Areas) > View Material Settings

  6. Create a new user and add the new role to the user

  7. Login as the new user

  8. Enter the course created in step 2

  9. Click on the three dots next to the folder created previously

Observed Behavior:

Option to change to Learning module is available
​Expected Behavior:

Option to change to a module should be unavailable.

Affected Versions

  • Learn 3900.125.0

  • Learn 3902.1.0

  • Learn 4000.1.0

Target Release

Working as Intended

Did this answer your question?