Skip to main content

Microsoft LTI Removes Team Owner Membership After a User is Assigned a System Role

A users Microsoft team membership is removed when the user has a system role, even though the user has the appropriate course role for the course.

Description

A user who has the appropriate course role for a course may have their Microsoft team membership removed after being assigned a system role (for example, System Administrator). As a result, the user is no longer listed as the team owner in the LTI.

Steps to Replicate

  1. Log into Blackboard Learn as an administrator

  2. Navigate to administrator Panel > Courses

  3. Access a course configured with Microsoft LTI

  4. Launch Microsoft LTI and select Profile Picture > Advanced Settings

  5. Verify that the instructor is listed as the course Owner

  6. Return to the administrator Panel and edit the instructors User Account

  7. Assign System Role to the instructor

  8. Log in as the Instructor and access the same course

  9. Launch Microsoft LTI and select Profile Picture > Advanced Settings

Observed Behavior:
The instructor is no longer listed as the course owner after a system role is assigned.

Expected Behavior:
The instructor should remain listed as the course owner.

Affected Versions

  • Learn 4000.19.0

  • Learn 4000.21.0

Target Release

Future Reference

Did this answer your question?