Skip to main content

Disabled Course Settings are Visible to Instructors

When 'Course Settings' are disabled in the Ultra Experience Settings by administrators, instructors can still see them. 

Description

When disabling the 'Course Setting Console' option in the Ultra configuration without restricting instructor privileges, the option should not be visible in the Ultra course. However, the instructor is still able to access it.

Steps to Replicate

  1. Log into Blackboard Learn Ultra Experience as an administrator

  2. Go to Administrator Panel > Ultra Experience Management > Available Features: The 'Course Setting Console' option is Off > Save

  3. Log in as an instructor and access the Ultra Course

Observed Behavior:

The Course Settings are disabled in the Ultra Experience (Configure) in Available Features, but they are still visible to instructors to access them.

Expected Behavior:

The Course Settings are disabled in the Ultra Experience (Configure) in Available Features and the instructor should not see the option in the course.

Resolution / Workaround

Most feature flags are temporary; after a suitable time, they are removed. They are intended to ease change management, not as a lasting means to configure your Blackboard LMS.
Since the feature flag in question has been discontinued, the bug no longer matters and we are closing this problem report as "Will Not Fix".

Target Release

Will Not Fix

Did this answer your question?