Skip to main content

Do not delete LTI 1.1 domains or placements as part of upgrading to LTI 1.3

Deleting LTI 1.1 domains or placements will irreversibly break all existing links. It is not a valid step when updating from LTI 1.1 to 1.3 (Advantage)

Customers are reminded that one should not delete an LTI 1.1 as part of upgrading to LTI 1.3. That would cause major loss of data.

Upgrading to LTI 1.3 Safely

The correct way to upgrade to LTI 1.3 is to install the LTI 1.3 while the LTI 1.1 is still installed. When an LTI 1.3 using the same domain name as the LTI 1.1 is added, it will trigger the upgrade process and replace the LTI 1.1. There is no other supported mechanism to upgrade to LTI 1.3. It is the responsibility of the LTI vendor to implement this correctly.

If you remove the LTI 1.1 before installing the 1.3, the links will be broken and will stay broken.

If you install the LTI 1.3, but the LTI 1.1 is not upgraded to it, then something is unusual and needs to be investigated. Do not delete the LTI 1.1 domain or placement. The vendor may not support upgrading to LTI 1.3, or the domain registration may be wrong. If the vendor does not support upgrading: then you will need to keep the LTI 1.1 and 1.3 co-installed. Restriction of tool-availability by Institutional Heirarchy may be a viable way to prevent new use of the old LTI but still allow old LTI links to function when the vendor does not support upgrading.

Consequences of Deleting LTI 1.1 are Serious

When an LTI 1.1 domain or placement is deleted: recreating it — even with exactly the same settings — will not restore the link functionality.

Restoring broken courses from archives also will not restore the link functionality. Never delete domains or placements for LTI 1.1 unless you are certain that you will never use them again, or are willing to start entirely over. Unused LTI domains or placements can be disabled and left in place.

Guidance for Developers

For technical information on registration of LTI applications, refer to the developer documentation.

In particular:

  • An LTI developer should create ONE LTI 1.3 application in the developer portal and give all their customers this single application installation ID. Use the same domain name as your existing LTI 1.1. The LMS will communicate securely with the developer portal to create compartmented authentication, there is no need for distinct applications, one per customer.

  • Do not instruct customers to create their own LTI 1.3 application, as mentioned at the above link: this is not allowed.

  • Adherence to this policy greatly reduces the risk of mistakes which prevent the upgrade from proceeding or visit other problems upon your customers.

You can reach our business development organization at “[email protected]” if there are any questions. If you have a partnership level with access to the support portal: you can create a case under your own account in https://support.anthology.com. (Vendors must not instruct clients to create cases for them, even if the vendors’ partnership level does not grant access to the support portal.)

Did this answer your question?